Minutes: January 23rd, 2019

JANUARY 23, 2019
Rick Smetzer

Chairman Paul Shaw called the meeting of the Catawba Island Township Zoning Commission to order at 7:00 p.m. For the record, he identified the date as January 23, 2019.
He introduced himself, as well as the other Commission members, that included, Jordan Davenport, Vice Chairman, Lewis Mindlin and Alternate Dr. Gregory Hart. Also introduced was Todd Bickley, Catawba Island Township Zoning Inspector and Board Secretary. Stephen Lonneman and Ron Wiseman were absent.
Chairman Shaw welcomed those in attendance. He stated the Zoning Commission appreciated their interest. He advised those in attendance that debates/talking amongst themselves would not be permitted. He asked that those in attendance sign the register. He requested that any person wishing to speak be recognized by the chairperson and identify themselves by name and address for the record. He asked that all cell phones be turned off. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
Chairman Shaw suggested the following agenda for the meeting.
1) The organizational meeting electing a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary for 2019.
2) The reading and approval of meeting minutes from November 28, 2018.
3) Any old business.
4) Any new business.
- Architectural Review Board – Ohio Revised Code Section 519.171
Chairman Shaw asked if there were any additions or changes to the proposed agenda. There were none. Jordan Davenport made a motion to approve the proposed agenda for the meeting. Lewis Mindlin seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Agenda Item 1 – Organizational Meeting
Chairman – Paul Shaw nominated Jordan Davenport for Chairman, the nomination was seconded by Dr. Gregory Hart.
Vice Chairman – Jordan Davenport nominated Paul Shaw for Vice-Chairman, the nomination was seconded by Lewis Mindlin.
Secretary – Jordan Davenport nominated Todd Bickley for Secretary, the nomination was seconded by Paul Shaw.
Monthly Meeting Time – Jordan Davenport made a recommendation to hold the Zoning Commission Meeting the fourth Wednesday of each month, except for November and December, which would be held the third Wednesday of the month; with the meeting beginning at 7:00 P.M. The recommendation was seconded by Dr. Gregory Hart.
Jordan Davenport made a motion to accept the 2019 Slate of Officers as nominated and the recommended meeting dates and time for 2019. The motion was seconded by Paul Shaw. The motion passed unanimously.
Agenda Item 2 – Approval of November 28, 2018 Meeting Minutes
Lewis Mindlin made a motion to approve the November 28, 2018 meeting minutes. The motion was seconded Paul Shaw. The motion passed unanimously.
Agenda Item 4 – Old Business
Todd Bickley indicated that he has begun working on proposed text amendments for the commission to consider at a later date.
Agenda Item 5 – New Business
Paul Shaw indicated that the Trustees had delegated to the Zoning Commission the consideration of an Architectural Review Board. Matt Montowski explained that concerned citizens had approached the Trustees about an Architectural Review Board and the Trustees requested Zoning Commission review. Todd Bickley reviewed ORC 519.171 which authorizes an Architectural Review Board.
Rick Smetzer noted that instead of an Architectural Review Board, lighting and signage issues could be addressed by making changes to the text.
Discussion followed.
Chairman Davenport recommended that the Zoning Commission would continue to evaluate a need for an Architectural Review Board and review other options; such as making changes to the current zoning text. The Board agreed with the recommendation.
Next Meeting
The next scheduled meeting of the Catawba Island Zoning Commission is 7:00 p.m., February 27, 2019.
Lewis Mindlin moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Paul Shaw. Motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 7:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Todd Bickley